Seminar Series

Seminar Schedule Spring 2019

UGA Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics AAEC 8010


TIME AND LOCATION

Unless otherwise stated, all seminars will take place at 3:30 p.m., 210 Conner Hall (with remote connections to Tifton, SWD, and Griffin, 210 Stuckey). Seminars typically last to 5 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

If you would like to join a mailing list to receive announcements about this seminar series, please contact Chris Peters at cpeters@uga.edu.

Monday, January 14

"Estimating Congestion Benefits of Batteries for Unobserved Networks: A Machine Learning Approach" - A. Justin Kirkpatrick, Duke University

9:30 a.m. - 11 a.m.

307 Conner Hall

Friday, January 18

"A Tale of Two Borders: Use-Value Assessment, Land Development, and Irrigation Investment" - Dan Bigelow, USDA ERS

9:30 a.m. - 11 a.m.

307 Conner Hall

Tuesday, January 22

"A Fine Is More Than a Price: Evidence from Drought Restrictions" - Bryan Pratt, UC Santa Cruz

1:30 p.m. - 3 p.m.

307 Conner Hall

Thursday, January 24

"The intersection between climate adaptation, mitigation, and natural resources: An empirical analysis of forest management" - Yukiko Hashida, Yale University

2 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

307 Conner Hall

Wednesday, January 30

"Equilibrium Sorting and Moral Hazard in Residential Energy Contracts" - Dylan Brewer, Michigan State University

2 p.m. - 3 p.m.

307 Conner Hall

Wednesday, February 13

"Credit Constraints and Delayed Entrepreneurship" - Pierre Nguimkeu, Georgia State University

Wednesday, February 20

No seminar

Wednesday, February 27

"Giving Teens a Boost? Effects of Adolescent Meningococcal Vaccine Recommendations" - Emily Lawler, UGA SPIA

Friday, March 1

“Climate, Insurance, and Innovation: the Case of U.S. Agriculture.” - Ruiqing Miao, Auburn University

Wednesday, March 6

"Irrigation, Water Scarcity, and Appropriative Water Rights under Uncertainty" - Man Li, IFPRI

9:30 a.m. - 11 a.m.

307 Conner Hall

Wednesday, March 13

No seminar

Wednesday, March 20

"Firm Dynamics and Local Economic Shocks: Evidence from the Shale Oil and Gas Boom" - Meagan McCollum, University of Tulsa

Friday, March 22

Lightning seminars with AAEC faculty (Graduate student admit event)

"State preference analysis of coastal adaptation along the Gulf Coast" - Craig Landry

"Modeling climate smart soil health investments in Sub-Saharan Africa" - Ellen McCullough

"Announcement effects of government crop news under evolving publication policies" - Mike Adjemian

"The impact of aging out of WIC on child nutrition: a regression discontinuity design" - Travis Smith

3:30 p.m. - 5 p.m.

Wednesday, March 27

No seminar

Wednesday, April 3

No seminar

Wednesday, April 10

Lorenzo Almada, Georgia State University

Wednesday, April 17

To be confirmed

Wednesday, April 24

Rod F. Ziemer Lecture: Brian Roe, Ohio State University